Home > english, Philosophie, Politics > Think – But Then Move

Think – But Then Move

Did you hear about the crisis we are all in? Fine, so we are on the same level. My friend Jeb has provided new insights into the current paradigm shift in societies – but the ensuing discussion left me somehow clue- and hopeless. This is how I felt: We are sitting on an train, we know a little about where we are – but where we might be going is in the dark.
Railway Tracks
By Detlef. Was a risky business. Don’t try this alone.
I believe the cause of the current economic crisis is not some individual failure: some managers or politicians being greedy, unscrupulous and simply for sale. I think the problem is that the liberal economic systems actually reward this behaviour and punish those who try to inspire trust and to be worth that trust.

I had that funny exchange with Ryan, about how money should be based on something different than math. Well: I think money is based on trust. “In God we trust” meaning: I trust I will get value for my money because we all share the same values. I don’t trust money of a political system that’s based on shaky civil legs, because I fear that system will explode from within and its money will be worthless.

Up to now every single day billions of Dollars are transferred to the US, because people all over the world trust America, trust its political and economic system, trust the old-fashioned  American values. Who else is there to trust? Which state, which organization? There are some, but very few.

If you were a successful business(wo)man in a developing country: would you invest your hard earned money in your own country or rather in US Government Bonds? So each day the billions are flowing into the US and into the EC from the developing countries – because of trust. Correct me if I’m wrong.

I think to solve the current crisis we have to inspire trust at home and in the developing countries. I believe this is President Obama’s agenda but no individual and not even an administration can do this alone. In the US and in the European Community I currently witness a deep mistrust against politics and politicians. But it’s no use: politics is the solution. We have to pick up the ball, formulate our values and create a political willpower. We have the great rules of our constitutions.
Basketball Sunrise
By Detlef.
Let’s get frustrated, agitated, compromise, win, loose. Let us play.
What do you say?

  1. February 20, 2009 at 5:27 am

    I say you’re completely correct my friend. At the end of it all – the frustration, the hopelessness, the fear and the anger – faith in our systems is the only way. We must move beyond the paralyzing affects of all we have witnessed and find solutions.

    Each of us individually at first, until that momentum grows into something that we, collectively must share with others. And you know…I think that’s exactly what we’re doing here.

    Thank you Detlef, for advancing that movement.

    Cheers.

    ps…I’m sorry I left you feeling clue/hopeless.

  2. February 20, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Don’t be sorry, Jeb. You put that old engine on the tracks.

  3. February 20, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Hi Detlef, Thought-provoking blog again today.

    “I think to solve the current crisis we have to inspire trust at home and in the developing countries.” I like the sound of this but in reality, it is nigh on impossible. Take Africa, for example, the problems there, and the reasons that those who have it transfer their money abroad, is because the system (political and economic in many cases) is so fundamentally flawed, from root to branch, that to fix it will take generations at the very least.

    Few are willing to wait that long for something that may or may not ever come along so they go with the “sure” route. Which, of course, is now proving to be anything but.

  4. February 20, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Well, if I’m any measure of trust in the political system, then you’re absolutely right. The values of politicians and the values of the population are dividing. I think that is what breeds the mistrust. When I see people I elected doing the opposite of what I elected them for, my trust is shaken.

  5. February 20, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Hi Iris,

    I am not an African and I never was there, but I have the opportunity to talk to people from various parts of Africa and I watch the news. So I have no first hand knowledge but what I see breaks my heart.

    Trust is lacking, those who have the opportunity leave, capital leaves, qualified jobs leave. That’s the diagnosis. I don’t know what to do. But perhaps with the internet and social media Africa gets a personal voice and helps us make the experience that this is our one world. Simple, everyday contacts like “What are you doing?” – “I’m procrastinating my ass off”. Communication.

  6. February 20, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Hi Ryan,

    I know what you mean, same on this side of the Atlantic. And to hold politicians accountable takes a lot of work and energy.

    Iris has related the problems in Africa. If we don’t want to walk that way in the US and Western Europe we better try to be articulate – while we can. We still can, can’t we?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

