Home > Politics > Poilitics is Not a Dirty Business

Poilitics is Not a Dirty Business

Fortunately nobody has all the power: To achieve your end you have to compromise.

politics

But compromising you have to compromise your conviction. You have to convince people of things without being convinced yourself: because that’s your end of the deal and you are convinced of the deal.

I stepped out of the party because of one resolution I could not hold in public. My district’s party boss called and asked: “Why did you leave?” and I said: “Because of this resolution.

He was appalled: “You leave your party because of one resolution? In which world are you living? If I would like 70% of the party’s resolutions I’d be a happy man. That’s not the way things work. You have to back that 70% of shit in order to get those 30% that you really want. Welcome to reality!”

I  see the point but I still don’t get it.

Categories: Politics Tags: , ,
  1. Ian
    March 1, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I definitely see your point, Detlef, but if we refuse to compromise with others that may have different beliefs, we either don’t get much accomplished, or we achieve power in a totalitarian or hegemonic fashion. Compromise is tough and soul-wearying at times but necessary if we want to encourage and empower everyone, not just the people that agree with us.

  2. March 1, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Thank you Ian, that’s a very wise and balanced view. But how far can you compromise? I’ve had experiences with a political party and a labor union which were heavily at odds inside but had to stand united to the outside. So your worst enemy inside had to be your friend in public: after the ballot – and vice versa.

    I simply could not call what I perceived as “white” “black” – even if it was democratic procedure. I found myself unable to obey party discipline. So I don’t get much accomplished.

  3. Ian
    March 1, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I agree that you can only compromise so much. There’s also the danger of cognitive dissonance; the stress of feeling one way, and projecting outwardly the opposite. It can fast lead to major personal/developmental problems.

    I don’t know that I can quantify it; I guess the point is, “you can only compromise so far.” And only you can tell where that is before you’re drowning in dissonance. I also agree with you about democratic majority procedure; I tend toward the Quaker view that majority rule is an act of violence towards the minority.

  4. March 2, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Alas, I don’t know any better rule than the rule of the majority.

    Seems we have to get those deals out intio the open as much as we can.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

