Home > Pictures > Small Town Loneliness

Small Town Loneliness

I just visited Tranq Jones’ impressive definition of loneliness which made me think of my most lonely place on earth: it’s the main street of my hometown, Rotenburg/ Wümme, where I grew up. This is my definition of loneliness:

Rotenburg/ Wümme - Große Straße
By Detlef.

I left here a long time ago. However: Deep in my heart I still love my hometown (a little). But when I’m strolling up and down main street, I’d like to meet somebody, maybe even somebody I know and have a little smalltalk with. What other reason is there to stroll up and down main street in Rotenburg/ Wümme?

Well, that shop with the banners on the left side: they are selling delicious cakes. And they treat every customer like royalty.

Categories: Pictures Tags: , ,
  1. March 26, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I think you can stand anywhere and feel lonely… I know when I lived in New York City, there were times I was standing in a huge crowd and felt alone.

    That’s why small talk, anywhere and anytime, isn’t really ‘small.’ Connections make life meaningful.

    Great post, Detlef… and thanks for the nod!

  2. March 26, 2009 at 6:50 am

    Thank you for stopping by, Tranq. I agree: small talk is great talk.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

