Home > Pictures > April Fool

April Fool

Do you know this? You have a certain view about something and you take it for granted that everybody shares this view. – Bad mistake!

Is this a poison-green gift wrap paper, or is it not?

Gift in Poison-Green
By Detlef.
I was buying a 1st of April gift:

Me: “Please could you wrap this as a gift?”
Saleslady: “Of course.  Which colour would you like?”
Me: “I’ll take the green.”
Saleslady, smiling: “Because it’s such a lovely spring day?”
Me: “No, because that’s such a mischievous, poisonous green and April is such a mischievous, unsettled month.”
Saleslady, suddenly frosty: “Well, I hope this is not a mischievous, poisonous gift.”
Me: “No. I just think this colour matches April very well.”
Saleslady wraps the gift in icy silence.

Oops: Did she paint this paper herself? Did she choose this particular colour? I don’t have anything against poison-green – but poison-green is poison-green and April is a mischievous, unsettled month. A “tender churl”. Or am I totally off the mark here?

I borrowed the poison-green feather, put on my hideously red sweater to dress up as the April Fool:
April Fool
By Detlef.

  1. April 1, 2009 at 7:00 am

    DC, I think as soon as she was done wrapping the gift, you should have handed it to her and said “April Fools!”

    Next year…

  2. April 1, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    No way, Jeb: I had already paid 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

