Home > Uncategorized > Feeling that earth is a small place

Feeling that earth is a small place

Okay: I’m feeling this is a small world. I’m feeling this is a small world when I’m on Twitter. I’m feeling this is a small world when I’m on Twitter and my friends in California say “Good Night” while I’m sipping my morning coffee. And to imagine it’s the same sun, the same moon over there and over here. Well – I can’t really imagine that. Wow. It’s even the same sun for my friend in Bangalore who is approaching lunchtime. Same sun, same moon.

It’s good to have a feeling of unity. A feeling: We are all in the same boat here. Oh. But a boat might just be a bit claustrophobic. The earth is not infinitely big. No – it’s not. That’s anticlimactic. That’s sad. That’s disappointing. Hey, we might not even all be seated.

When I went up the stairs to my grandma’s place I would get an exciting present. Not a sweet. Something meaningful. A miniature car, a folding rule, a notebook with a pen, a postcard with a beautiful picture. And there came the day when Grandma no longer had a meaningful present. There were no more adventure presents. There was a piece of chocolate. Aw, so what?

And there was Grandma. Which was a huge deal. Which was the biggest present of all.

Does this story have a punchline?

The biggest present is the present you take for granted.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

