Home > Uncategorized > Sometimes when I’m inside I like to take my time out.

Sometimes when I’m inside I like to take my time out.

What’s better? Outside looking in or inside looking out?

Sometimes when I’m inside I like to take my time out. When I met my graduation class from 1979, being again with the people many of whom I had not seen for 30 years I had to take my time out. Some people had changed so much I didn’t recognize them even after we re-introduced. Of course I remembered Thomas X but I couldn’t connect THIS face with the Thomas X I in my head. But then again: the gestures. The gestures stayed the same. I looked at the way people sat, moved their hands while talking – and I was back in Latin-class. 

Boh! What is time? I remember these middle aged people as kids, I was a kid with them and all that is left is pantomime? I was sitting there, watching, wondering, feeling the chilly wind of time, sitting at the same table but feeling like a stranger looking into the room from the window.

Feeling like a stranger who just had walked down our old Main Street, turned left into the small lane where the the lights of the pub could be seen from the corner, looking into the window like on the screen of a time machine. Looking, seeing the smiling faces, turning back to Main Street, getting into my car to drive back to the future.

“Hey”, said Hannah. “Why are you looking so sad?”

“I’m not sad.”

If you’re inside you should be looking in. It’s more polite.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

