Home > Uncategorized > Remembering 9/11/2001

Remembering 9/11/2001


By Detlef. Licensed under Creative Commons BY-NC-SA.

I pondered whether I should change my Twitter avatar for 9/11. 9/11 was the public incident that made the biggest emotional impact on my life. I saw the demise of the Soviet Union and the reunification of my country – but nothing touched me like 9/11. I know exactly what I did and what happened on that day and I will never forget it.

So if I use this avatar for the day, representing me and my mood – am I allowed to have small talk, even to joke? I’m sure I am and we all are.

The victims of 9/11 were people like you and me and the best way to keep their memory is to live our lives as they would have liked to live their. Some of them would have loved to chat on Twitter, some of them were great artists, wonderful writers and I bet that most of them were kind, warm hearted people. Some were so brave to prevent a bigger disaster facing their own certain death. There are memories for them made of stone now –  but the most present memory for the people who died on 9/11/2001 is in our hearts and in our minds.

So while I live and enjoy my life today, while I joke and laugh – a piece of my heart is with them, who would have loved to be here with us, would have loved a joke or to present their newest work of art – who would have enriched our lives and will be missed forever.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

