Home > Uncategorized > Wow, that was 1979! I still remember the days before the revolution in Iran

Wow, that was 1979! I still remember the days before the revolution in Iran

Wow, that was 1979! I still remember the days  before the revolution in Iran. The Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini seemed to be the good guy, the one we all hoped would create a free Iran. I remember him appearing on tv, from his home a Paris, Fance, green wallpaper with lots of flowers, Khomeini seemed to sit on the floor, turban on his head, all in black, long black/ white beard. Hey, a guy like Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh, one of the good guys against the corrupt, western capitalist systems backing the Shah Mohammad Reza Pahlavi. I remember the dancing in the streets in Tehran when the Shah was finally overthrown and Khomeini returned home after decades of exile in France.

I later perceived Khomeini as the ungrateful one – turning against the very values of tolerance that helped him to survive in his exile.

Today I see this as a situation where I was totally wrong: welcoming the change in Iran, being against the Shah and my own government, who backed him until the end – that was my nonfactual assessment of a situation in a country I didn’t know in the least.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

