Home > Writing > But “but” is the bud of a budding conflict

But “but” is the bud of a budding conflict

…. and conflict sets creativity in motion.

The <but> operator:

  1. I want to work, but I am lazy.
  2. I am happy Mubarak stepped down, but I doubt the power structure of a whole country changes with the demise of one man.
  3. I love to live in the country, but I need the buzz and the cultural options of the city.
  4. I am concerned about global warming, but it is hard for me to change my way of life.
  5. I love to smoke, but I’m afraid of cancer.
  6. I want to slim down, but I love to eat.
  7. I want to create 10 sentences with “but”, but that might be a bit much.
  8. I love Twitter, but I would love to have the option of threaded conversation there. And please don’t say “hashtags!”
  9. I love cappuccino, but it makes me fuzzy.
  10. I need oil at an affordable price for my way of life, but I don’t want people to die for it, but I don’t want landscapes to be devastated for it, but I don’t want dictators to be financed with it.
  11. I hate snow, but it looks nice.
Categories: Writing

Leave a Reply

