Home > Philosophy, Politics > Freedom buys no medication

Freedom buys no medication

Freedom buys no medication
it doesn’t purchase cigarettes.
It doesn’t give you education
there is very few it gets.

I like freedom like you do
maybe I even love it, too.
But you know that being free
is not nearly enough for me.

Flying high above the clouds
no restraint
looking down upon the crowds
no complaint

I rather want to live on earth
with my friends for what it’s worth
we need to eat we need to drink
but freedom is an abstract thing.

© Detlef Cordes – 05.17.2009

I created these lyrics almost 2 years ago. I’m not sure whether I would still write them this way. “Flying high above the clouds” – that’s not freedom. Arbitrariness is not freedom.

Freedom is not everything – but without freedom everything is nothing.” Exchange “health” for “freedom” and you have an equally true statement. Only: “health” is concrete. If you say “health for all!” – that implies concrete measures. If you say “freedom for all” – that is open for anybody’s interpretation.

So: what is freedom?

Categories: Philosophy, Politics
  1. February 21, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Detlef, I just typed several thoughts and deleted them, realizing I am dancing around this answer. I think what sums it all up for me is: Questioning authority.

    Thank you so much for subscribing to my blog! I will try to make it worth your time. I’ve now subscribed to yours as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

