Home > art, link, Philosophy > How does time translate into space?

How does time translate into space?

Looking at an iPad drawing by Alison Jardine:

  • How does time translate into space?
  • Does this translation help us to better understand what time is?
  • Is time always history?
  • How does any special moment we remember relate to time? And what does this relation look like if it’s translated into space?
  • How do these questions relate to our potential as humans?
In my dreams time often appears as a ride on a train. Often I miss the train, or I am on the wrong train, or I am on one train and my love is on another, or I am in a huge station and there are many trains and I have to pick the right one.
Sometimes I don’t stand on the departure platform, but I come from behind, walking on the tracks towards all these trains. Clearly not doing the right thing, clearly being unorthodox, clearly being in danger. All alone on a field of danger.
And ONE of those trains might just be the RIGHT time slot for me.
And sometimes, looking back: where was that spot where I could have moved into a different direction? SHOULD have moved into a different direction? But I never look back that way in dreams – must be a thing of the waking mind.
Categories: art, link, Philosophy
  1. June 1, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Thanks for the link, the ipad drawings are interesting.
    I also dream about trains: when two trains pass, the passengers of one train are remarkably close to the passengers on the other train in both time and space, for a second. By introducing velocity have we complicated your header question further?

  2. June 2, 2011 at 4:21 am

    Hello Andy, pleased to meet you. Velocity is a link between time and space. The look up to the stars is archeology, as the light travels millions or billions of years towards our retinas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

