Home > SEO, socmed > Google indexes WordPress better than G+

Google indexes WordPress better than G+

I was thinking about making Google Plus my online home, as most of my discussions are happening there and discussions are most important to me. I often find my own opinion in discussions and very often there is more than one valid opinion to a certain topic. I think it’s nice to have the discussion where the post is – and not to have to hop between post and discussions on Facebook and G+.

However: to embed links and pictures into a G+ post is a bit difficult – but I could deal with that. But Google Search indexes posts in WordPress better than posts in G+.

My fictional text about Breitenstein is on G+ 4 days now. I linked to it from my Twitter account, it drew 4 Google+, 5 comments and 1 re-share and still it doesn’t apear in Google search. It does appear in the G+ search however. But who searches in G+? Google seems to keep the searches separate.

I re-posted my Breitenstein text here on WordPress – and it appears in Google Search immediately after posting.

That’s a big con against posting in G+ exclusively. And you can structure your content with #hastags only, whereas here you have the wonderful categories and archive function.

So I think I’ll make myself comfy here at WordPress.

Categories: SEO, socmed Tags: , , ,
  1. Cybergabi
    November 10, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Yes, I’ve noticed that too – my Blogger blog gets a lot more traffic from Google searches than my public G+ posts (on the same subject with the same keywords) do. It’s weird that they have a separate search space for G+. I wish they would integrate it into the general Google search.

    • November 10, 2011 at 2:26 pm

      How do you know how much traffic your public G+ posts get from searches, Gabi? Is there an integration with Analytics?

  2. November 10, 2011 at 9:51 am

    Now you mention it I cannot recall finding any results from Google search leading to a +1 page or comment.

    Will be interesting to see if results start featuring +1 Business Pages in the future, like they do with Facebook Pages.

    • November 10, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      I found one of my G+ posts that is featured in the Google search, Mike. It is a one-sentence post. Link to search.

  3. November 10, 2011 at 10:19 am

    Thanks for doing all that so I didn’t have to :P.. Seriously… that’s interesting and useful info – thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

