Home > art > Museums are places to destroy art

Museums are places to destroy art

L’art pour l’art is not for me. I use art to embark on exciting expeditions from everyday life and back into the jungle that is everyday life. I’m not an admirer. I’m a beast that wants to feast. I want my mind to be entertained. If you give me a black rectangle in a white field that entertains me more than the damned Mona Lisa, which I saw so often that her smile bores me to death.

Any kindergarten exhibition interests me more than a well curated Leonardo show. I won’t stand in line for that. I won’t stand in line in Disneyland and its well crafted attractions. Museums are places to destroy art.

Handcraft is boring.
Beauty is boring.
Admiration is boring.
Consensus is boring.

Anything that helps us explore this moment here together is exciting.
Anything that tears down the old walls of perception is exciting.
Any fresh experience is exciting – wherever it happens.
Anything that disappoints an assumption is exciting.

Whether that can be called art or not: it doesn’t matter to me.

Categories: art Tags:
  1. November 19, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    What your speaking of actually is “l’art pour l’art”…the idea that art is what it is….it is anything, anywhere and it is not confined to any preconditions or notions. So “l’art pour l’art” sounds like it very much IS for you. And on your topic of “Museums are places to destroy art,” I agree, to a certain extent (“destroy” might be a bit strong)…but I have a couple of posts on my dislike of museums on my blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

